Image

I can’t believe how hard it is to keep a baby busy!  I’ve grown to fear the whine of boredom from my little one, so I’m constantly looking for new toys to keep her entertained.  On the way back to the car from Whole Foods the other day, I decided to stop in at a local toy shop before heading home.  I honestly thought that the store was a “teacher store.”  You know what I’m talking about, right?  One of those stores with squiggly borders, giant cutouts of Abe Lincoln, and foil stars stickers.

Baby and I made our way into the store and found the infant section.  It was full of the usual suspects – Sophie the Giraffe, Manhattan Toys, O-Balls, everything and anything Lamaze ever made, etc.  After two minutes of looking around, I knocked a toy off the shelf as usual (baby in the Baby Bjorn = always something on the floor).  As I picked it up to put it back on the shelf, I spotted an Early Years Curiosity Cube.  Wow, something different I thought.  As soon as I showed it to baby, I knew we were taking it home with us.

I can’t say enough good things about this toy.  We’ve had it for three days and baby is still playing with it. I’ve bought so many toys that didn’t last beyond the car ride home.

Here’s what’s great about it:

– The parts move easily; baby can spin them with little effort.

– Each side of the cube has a fun activity – sliding “abacus” disks, spinning bead maze, spinning mirror, sliding puzzle, clicking dial, spiraling colored disk.

– Each activity is stimulating in a different way and helps babies to build their fine motor skills.

– The plastic is substantial/not cheap.

– The colors are great. I love you Roy G. Biv, but sometimes it’s nice to change things up.

– No batteries required, so no batteries to buy.

– Did I mention that it’s fun?!  Even I have been playing with it.

The recommended age(s) for this toy is 9-24 months, but my 8 month old loves it.    I’m sure that she’ll get good at sliding the parts around as she gets older.  Right now spinning the moving parts is enough entertainment for her.

